top of page


We're delighted to announce that there were over 60 nominations for this year's awards, the most ever received and arguably the highest quality. 


Below are the nominations put forward to the Awards Panel for consideration, each one deserves a round of applause 🙌

Please join us to celebrate the fantastic work going on in university rugby and of course the winner's announcement Thursday 13th May at 16.00 on our social media channels


Core Values Club - To celebrate a University Club who have demonstrated an outstanding and consistent commitment to the values of the game.

  • De Montfort University

  • Durham University

  • Nottingham Trent University Women's Rugby Club


Pioneers of Rugby 2020-21 - To recognise the unique and innovative ways in which clubs have addressed the challenges and maximised their impact across the year.

  • University of Leeds Women's Rugby Union

  • De Montfort University

  • Durham University

  • Nottingham Trent University Women's Rugby Club

  • UEA Women's Rugby Club


University Staff Member (Unsung Hero) - To celebrate the unsung members of university staff who through their role sustained the University game despite the limitations in place during the covid-19 pandemic.

  • Ellie Christon, S&C coach, Durham University

  • Alex Burnett,  Student Activities Coordinator, University of Gloucestershire


Coach – special recognition award - To celebrate a coach or coaching team that have benefitted their members wellbeing and welfare or has demonstrated innovative and creative approaches to the game during the Covid-19 pandemic.

  • Chris McAuley - De Montfort University

  • Paul Baty - Durham University

  • Oxford Brookes University Coaching Team


Student Leadership - To celebrate a University student or committee who made an outstanding contribution to the game through their commitment and endeavours in leading through rugby in their university.

  • Birmingham City University - Women’s Rugby Club Committee

  • Miriam Church, Women’s Rugby Union President, Northumbria University

  • Sheffield Hallam’s Women’s Rugby Union

  • Ben Duke (Men's Chairperson) & Matt Wells (Men's Club Captain) DMU

  • Georgia Briggs, President of the University of York Women's Rugby Club

  • Committee of Women's Rugby Union at the University of Nottingham

  • Ben Fowles, Men's 1st Team Captain, Durham University (DURFC)


Student Volunteer of the year (unsung Hero) - To celebrate the unsung hero student volunteers who have made a significant contribution to the game through their volunteering.

  • Ben Parker, Club President, Oxford Brookes University RFC

  • Erin Collins, Development squad Head Coach and Club Alumni Officer at DUWRFC

  • Sam Lenselink, member of Leeds University Rugby Union Football Club

  • James Peters, student coach, Nottingham Trent men’s rugby union


Tom Miller Award for Social Impact - To recognise a club or student who has demonstrated considerable impact through charitable and awareness raising endeavours.

  • George Munro, President, Birmingham City University Men’s Rugby

  • Nathaniel Bevan-Brown (Secretary) - De Montfort University

  • Jonny Owen, Leeds Beckett University

  • Durham University

  • Dan Blackman, Club Captain, Durham University Rugby Football Club (DURFC)

  • University of Sussex men's rugby

  • James Parker - NTU

  • University of East Anglia Men's & Women's Clubs


Vaughan Parry Williams Award for outstanding contribution to student rugby - To recognise someone who has changed the game through their outstanding contribution to university rugby.

  • Gareth Bowden Newcastle University Men’s and woman's performance coach and club development officer for Newcastle and Northumbria

  • Joy Cummings, Club Captain of Leeds University Women’s Rugby (LUUWRUFC), University of Leeds

  • Paul Baty, Durham University RFC and England Students Rugby

bottom of page