top of page

The Students’ RFU (SRFU) is a national constitute body of the RFU representing higher education. We are Independent Limited Company with Charitable Status which is run by volunteers. There are over 100 universities with student rugby clubs that make up the membership of the SRFU and are in turn full voting members of the Rugby Football Union. 



Voting members.png

148 member clubs


17,500 players


Over 2,000 matches per season

Womens Rugby.png

15 volunteers & 1 part-time employee


Close work with RFU & BUCS

Member webinar access.png

Over 10,000 social media followers

OUR IMPACT 2022/23 


Made discipline guidance easier to find and understand 


England Students beat France Universities on French soil for the first time in 17 years


Hosted the University Rugby Awards at the HSBC London 7s


Piloted a new EDI toolkit for universities

Funds Granted.png

Issued grants and awards totalling over £14,000

Womens Rugby.png

Supported the launch of a new women's Medics league

Members voice.png

Hosted the University Rugby Development Forum at the StoneX Stadium



Social Media Followers.png

Introducing a new behaviour charter

Return to Rugby Conference.png

Exploring opportunities to develop the women's game at universities


Rolling out a new process

for registering student players

Grant scheme.png

Supporting clubs with grant offers


Working to secure one or more test fixtures for England Students



A timeline of events that have shaped the Students' RFU.

  • 1973
    The Rugby Football Union set up a specific Higher Education panel to bring together University of London, UAU, British College and British Polytechnics
  • 1976
    The Students’ RFU (SRFU) was formed as a National Constitute Body of the RFU to represent Higher Education. The SRFU was formed in order to coordinate all universities and polytechnics, where there had previously been separate bodies. University of Oxford and University of Cambridge remained separate Constitute Bodies on the RFU.
  • 1976
    Appointment of the first SRFU’s Council Member onto the RFU Council - Derek Morgan
  • 1976
    The first SRFU Committee took place with Derek Morgan as Chair with Brian McLelland as Secretary.
  • 1995
    The number of RFU Council Rep for the SRFU increased to two. Bob Reeves joined Derek Morgan as the second rep on the RFU Council to represent Higher Education Rugby Union.
  • 2001
    The SRFU established charitable status with a charitable object to: To administer, foster, encourage, extend and control Rugby Football Union (“the game”) for the moral and physical development of students at University and other institutions of higher education within England.
  • 2002
    Derek Morgan stepped down as SRFU Chair and Council Rep to take up the position of RFU President. He remained involved in the SRFU as Hon Treasurer and Trustee. Bob Reeves was appointed by the board of trustees as SRFU Chair. Vaughan Parry Williams was appointed at the second RFU Council Rep for the SRFU.
  • 2009
    Ian Elvin is appointed as the second SRFU Council Member of the RFU Council. Ian replaces Vaughan Parry William, unfortunately Vaughan passed away in June.
  • 2012
    Derek Morgan stepped down as Hon Treasurer and Trustee handing over to Stuart Wade. The AGM approved the appointment of Derek Morgan to the position of SRFU President as recommended by the Board of Trustees
  • 2014
    Derek Morgan stepped down as SRFU President. Bob Reeves was appointed as both SRFU & RFU President and in turn stepped down as SRFU Chair and Council Member. Iain Elvin was appointed as SRFU Chair. Jonathan Webb was appointed by the board of trustee as the second council rep for the SRFU.
  • 2015
    Jonathan Webb was appointed as World Rugby Council Member for the RFU replacing Bill Beaumont who became World Rugby Chair. Jonathan stepped down as RFU Council Rep for the SRFU and Trustee
  • 2016
    Ian Elvin steps down as SRFU Chair, RFU Council Rep and Trustee. Phil Attwell is appointed by the Trustee Board to succeed Ian.
  • 2017
    Phil de Glanville was appointed as the SRFU Council Rep on the RFU Council and Trustee
  • 2018
    Phil de Glanville was appointed to the RFU Board, as well as, remaining as Council Member for the SRFU.
  • 2019
    Mark Hyndman succeeds Phil Attwell as SRFU Chair and joins the SRFU as a Trustee. Phil Attwell and Phil de Glanville continue as RFU Council reps for the SRFU.

T R U S T E E   B O A R D


Phil De Glanville


Patrick Craig.png

Patrick Craig

Hon. Secretary

Rosie Wiillams.jpg

Rosie Williams

Women's Rep

Phil Mooney.png

Phil Mooney

Vice President

Rob Scully_Headshot.jpg

Rob Scully

Hon. Treasurer


Shaunagh Brown

Women's Rep

Mark Hyndman.png

Mark Hyndman

Chair & SRFU Council Rep

Katy Storie1.jpg

Katy Storie


Megan Beddoe.jpg

Megan Beddoe

Student Rep & Club Development Chair

Daisy Hopkins (1).JPG

Daisy Hopkins

Student Rep

bottom of page