top of page



The Students’ Rugby Football Union (SRFU) have renewed their commitment to supporting the men’s England Students representative side for the 2023-24 season. Long-standing rivals England Students and France Universities will be back in battle on English soil, with the 2024 fixture scheduled for early May. 


The men’s England Students’ information below lays out the eligibility criteria and nomination process for any player wishing to be nominated. ​The nomination form must be completed by a qualified coach from the player’s academic institution as players cannot nominate themselves. Please note, a financial contribution towards the running of the programme will be required from selected players or their institutions, further details will be provided in due course.

​The closing date for nominations is 5pm Monday 19 February 2024. 

​If you have any queries, please contact

  • 1973
    The Rugby Football Union set up a specific Higher Education panel to bring together University of London, UAU, British College and British Polytechnics
  • 1976
    The Students’ RFU (SRFU) was formed as a National Constitute Body of the RFU to represent Higher Education. The SRFU was formed in order to coordinate all universities and polytechnics, where there had previously been separate bodies. University of Oxford and University of Cambridge remained separate Constitute Bodies on the RFU.
  • 1976
    Appointment of the first SRFU’s Council Member onto the RFU Council - Derek Morgan
  • 1976
    The first SRFU Committee took place with Derek Morgan as Chair with Brian McLelland as Secretary.
  • 1995
    The number of RFU Council Rep for the SRFU increased to two. Bob Reeves joined Derek Morgan as the second rep on the RFU Council to represent Higher Education Rugby Union.
  • 2001
    The SRFU established charitable status with a charitable object to: To administer, foster, encourage, extend and control Rugby Football Union (“the game”) for the moral and physical development of students at University and other institutions of higher education within England.
  • 2002
    Derek Morgan stepped down as SRFU Chair and Council Rep to take up the position of RFU President. He remained involved in the SRFU as Hon Treasurer and Trustee. Bob Reeves was appointed by the board of trustees as SRFU Chair. Vaughan Parry Williams was appointed at the second RFU Council Rep for the SRFU.
  • 2009
    Ian Elvin is appointed as the second SRFU Council Member of the RFU Council. Ian replaces Vaughan Parry William, unfortunately Vaughan passed away in June.
  • 2012
    Derek Morgan stepped down as Hon Treasurer and Trustee handing over to Stuart Wade. The AGM approved the appointment of Derek Morgan to the position of SRFU President as recommended by the Board of Trustees
  • 2014
    Derek Morgan stepped down as SRFU President. Bob Reeves was appointed as both SRFU & RFU President and in turn stepped down as SRFU Chair and Council Member. Iain Elvin was appointed as SRFU Chair. Jonathan Webb was appointed by the board of trustee as the second council rep for the SRFU.
  • 2015
    Jonathan Webb was appointed as World Rugby Council Member for the RFU replacing Bill Beaumont who became World Rugby Chair. Jonathan stepped down as RFU Council Rep for the SRFU and Trustee
  • 2016
    Ian Elvin steps down as SRFU Chair, RFU Council Rep and Trustee. Phil Attwell is appointed by the Trustee Board to succeed Ian.
  • 2017
    Phil de Glanville was appointed as the SRFU Council Rep on the RFU Council and Trustee
  • 2018
    Phil de Glanville was appointed to the RFU Board, as well as, remaining as Council Member for the SRFU.
  • 2019
    Mark Hyndman succeeds Phil Attwell as SRFU Chair and joins the SRFU as a Trustee. Phil Attwell and Phil de Glanville continue as RFU Council reps for the SRFU.
bottom of page