top of page


The Students’ RFU (SRFU) are delighted to announce the 2023/24 University Rugby Awards shortlist.  

The annual awards are the opportunity to reward and recognise the individuals and clubs that give so much behind the scenes to grow and develop university rugby on and off the pitch, bringing the RFU core values to life.

This year, there are 7 award categories up for grabs. Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations, and huge congratulations to everyone shortlisted.

The winners will be announced Thursday 9th May at 4pm on the SRFU website and social media channels.




Outstanding Club AwardTo celebrate a University Club or club committee who have demonstrated an outstanding and consistent commitment to the values of the game.

·      United Bristol Hospitals Women’s RFC

·      St Georges Hospital Medical School RFC

·      University of Bath Women's Rugby Club

·      UEA Women's Rugby

·      University of Liverpool Women’s Rugby Club

·      University of Bristol Men's Rugby Club

Outstanding Coach Award To celebrate a coach or coaching team that have demonstrated innovative and creative approaches to the game, with a demonstrable positive impact on results and/or the wellbeing of club members.

·      Olivia Rowe,  Newcastle University

·      Daniel Bingham, Hartpury university

·      Dom Palacio, LSE Women's Rugby Club

·      Jenny Renton and DMU Rugby Women's Coaching Team

·      Mike Williams, Keele University Women's Rugby 

·      Joe Cain, Northumbria University

Unsung Hero AwardTo celebrate a referee, coordinator, medic, staff member or support team who go above and beyond in support of rugby or your rugby club.

·      Jeff Mapp, University of Nottingham

·      Steve McGinnis, Sutton Bonington LRFUC

·      Jane Towey, University of Warwick Sport

·      Will Katene, Exeter University RFC


Outstanding Student Volunteer AwardTo celebrate a student who has made a significant contribution to the game through their volunteering.

·       Skye Ayling, University of Bristol Women’s Rugby Club

·      Charlie Illsley, Hartpury University RFC

·      Erin Procter, Loughborough Students Women's Rugby Football Club

·      Matty Rabbette, University of Liverpool Women’s Rugby Club

·      Louise Willott, Keele University Women's Rugby 


Tom Miller Award for Social ImpactTo recognise a club or student who has demonstrated considerable impact through charitable or awareness raising endeavours.

·      University of Buckingham Men's Rugby Club

·      University of Bath Women’s Rugby Club

·      University of Bristol Men's Rugby Club


Vaughan Parry Williams Award for exceptional contribution to student rugbyTo recognise someone who has changed the game through their exceptional contribution or service to university rugby.

·      Keith Fleming nominated by Exeter University Rugby Club

·      Tim Stevens nominated by Oxford University


Rugby For all - EDI AwardTo recognise an individual, coach, referee, team, or club that has taken positive action to improve diversity and inclusion in the university game.

·      Essex University Women’s Rugby Team

·      Annie Machin, University of Liverpool Women’s Rugby Club

·      Kate Cook-Williams, Sheffield Hallam Women’s Rugby Union

813 views0 comments


bottom of page